About Us

The Association has been in existence since 1918, when Lord Courtenay donated the land currently known as Decoy Field to unemployed soldiers returning home from the war. It is a voluntary organisation with a Management Committee elected by the members and it runs the five fields on behalf of both the Landlords and the Members.

Today there are five fields namely –

Blake’s Field
Bradley Field
Coach Road Field
Cooke’s Field
Decoy Field

The fields vary in size from 22 plots to 106 plots and are run by a Field Manager elected by the Field Members.

The Management Committee consists of –

Lord Clifford of Chudleigh D.L. is our President. He offers advice and attends Social Evenings etc. when his busy schedule allows. He is very supportive of the allotment movement and we consider ourselves very lucky to have his patronage and support.

The rest of the Management Committee is made up of -

The Chairman
The Company Secretary
The Treasurer
The Shop Manager
The Health & Safety Officer
The Judging Officer
The IT/Website Officer
The Environmental Officer
The Field Manager Support Officer
The Minute Secretary
Five Field Managers

Meetings –

The AGM is open to all members and is held every March.

The Awards / Social Evenings are held in September or October.

Committee Meetings are held 10 times a year and members can attend if they give prior notification to the Secretary.

Emergency Meetings are held usually on the field concerned if circumstances require them.

The Community Shop -

The shop was opened in 2003 after securing a Lottery Grant. It is located on Decoy Field and is open to all Association members and members of the public. Membership is £1.00 per annum. Opening times are posted at the shop.

Annual Field Judging -

All members can take part in the Annual Field Judging and put their plot up to be judged on a day (usually in July). Judges are sourced from local garden centres and have no link to members to ensure fairness throughout.

The six members with the highest marks on each field all receive a certificate whilst the top 3 get a rosette with the highest scorer winning the field cup.

The Field Cup Winners go forward and the highest scorer wins the Lord Clifford Cup for Best in Association and the second highest scorer wins the Runner Up in Association Cup.

There is also a Best Newcomer Cup and the Chairman’s Cup award to the person the Chairman feels has made an outstanding achievement to the Association during the year.

All cups are given on a perpetual basis and must be returned for the following years judging.

Fruit, Flower & Vegetable Show -

This started off very small and has been growing each year. It is held at the Keyberry Inn on the Saturday of the August Bank Holiday weekend. The winner is awarded the Graham Fogwell Memorial Cup and in 2012 we hope to offer some cash prizes.

Landlords -

We have two Landlords but deal with the second through the first.

Blake’s & Cooke’s Fields are privately owned and are not Statutory Allotment Fields owned by the Town Council.

Bradley, Coach Road & Decoy Fields are Statutory Allotment Fields owned by the Town Council.

We rent all fields through the Town Council and liaise with them should there be a problem on the private fields.

Contacts –

Secretary: Roger Beech

Tel: 07804 122826
Email: nadcaa@yahoo.co.uk

Registered Address:

Reg. Office: 26 Abbotsbury Road, Newton Abbot, Devon  TQ12 2NW

Membership Secretary: Carole Beech

Tel: 07377 568573
Email: nadcaa@yahoo.co.uk

Association Email: nadcaa@yahoo.co.uk